Leftover Makeover

Since these days I am at work about 5 nights a week, I hardly ever eat dinner at home.  If I do, it’s random tidbits of my parents’ dinner, eaten at the island at midnight.  As a result, often the only way I can experience my mother’s excellent cooking is in the form of leftovers.

Remember when I said that I don’t post much lunch stuff because it almost always looks the same?  It appears I like to eat salad and eggs for lunch, which sounds like it could get tedious, but I actually never eat the same meal twice because those two foods can be altered in infinite ways.  The key to changing it up is leftovers!

Here’s a kind of unconventional example:

I’m tempted to call it Leggy Eggies… does that sound unappetizing?

This might be another eyebrow raiser for food skeptics… another instance of “don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it”.

I started with some chopped red pepper, and sauteed that over high heat for a couple minutes.  Then I added some greens and sauteed those too.  Now, enter leftovers.  I chopped up a little bit of pesto linguine and added that to the pan. You can saute leftover pasta to heat it up, and it gets a few caramelized, slightly crispy edges.  You can do whatever you want to it, but I cracked an egg on top.  Then I stuck some cubed mozzarella in there, flipped it, and let the cheese brown a little on the bottom.  Kind of like a rudimentary pasta frittata (see, it’s a real thing!).

I suppose I could have just microwaved the pesto linguine… but that wouldn’t make for a very interesting blog post : )

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Leftover Makeover

  1. Rosie

    I have always felt leftovers to be extremely depressing. The only thing to do is turn them into new foods! I like your style.

Leave a Reply

