Tiny Little Test…

Our Internet has been totally whacky… Maybe it’s the solar flare? Anyhow, it’s a good opportunity to test the WordPress app on my phone (yes, I upgraded from a flip phone and am now undeniably steeping in iProducts) since it makes it’s own Internet signal. Fancy stuff.

So, here’s yet another breakfast post…
I used to make this for breakfast a lot when I lived in Owego. It’s super simple and a change-up from eating oats as oatmeal or granola. Ashley at edibleperspective.com made it up; she has genius breakfast recipes.

I only have one picture, and I took it after eating half… But I like to think it just made it artsy : )

She calls it a banana scramble, but I think of it as more of a banana oat cake. Whatever you call it, it’s great, especially once you add toppings.

20120313-144026.jpg

Mine is topped with peanut butter, fig butter, and coconut.

Breakfast Banana Oat Cake
from edibleperspective.com

3 Tbsp rolled oats
1 Tbsp ground flax
1 Tbsp milk
1 Tbsp unsweetened coconut
1/2 banana
A few shakes of the cinnamon shaker
A splash of vanilla

1. Smash the banana up with a fork until moist.
2. Mix in all the other ingredients. It will look kind of like cookie dough.
3. Grease a pan and heat over medium heat.
4. Put your ‘dough’ in the pan and flatten it into a pancake.
5. Cook for 3 minutes until starting to brown, then flip. You’ll need to use a spatula that fits under almost the whole cake.
6. Cook another 2-3 minutes; then remove from pan, cover with whatever you want, and eat!

The reason this is especially delicious is because the banana starts to caramelize. It’s also chewy and satisfying from the oats.

Okay my eyes are strained and I think I’m getting carpel tunnel… But here’s a completed blog post! What an amazing little device of convenience and fun that may be damaging my health : )

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Tiny Little Test…

  1. Rosie

    WOw! I make something very like that raw all the time (with peanut butter and honey instead of flax and coconut). Frying it is a brilliant idea.

Leave a Reply

