Banana Bread Report

This bread definitely passes the next-day-delicious test.  It has great texture and flavor, and I am very pleased with its banana-ness.  I like to leave some chunks when I mash the banana so there are some pockets of pure banana in the bread.

I modified this recipe to include oat flour (just ground up oats, easy to do at home with a blender/food processor), and made it chocolate-espresso rather than almond-caramel.  Though, as I mentioned in the previous post, I’d add more instant espresso if you want a more distinct coffee flavor.

Espresso Chocolate Chip Oatey Banana Bread

1 cup rolled oats

3/4 cup oat flour (Grind a little more than  3/4 cups oats in a food processor or blender-type appliance until fine and floury.  Measure what you have and do a little more if you need to to make 3/4 cup.)

1/2 cup white whole wheat flour (or use whole wheat or all purpose)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp instant espresso powder

2 eggs

3 ripe medium bananas, mashed

2 tbsp canola oil or other vegetable oil or melted butter

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and grease a loaf pan.

2. Stir dry ingredients together in a large bowl.

3. Beat the two eggs in a small bowl, then add the banana and oil.

4. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until just combined (the less you stir, the more tender the bread will be).

5. Fold the chocolate chips in gently.

6. Put the batter in the loaf pan and bake for 45 to 55 minutes.  55 minutes was perfect for this batch in this pan in our oven, but these things can vary.  Take it out when you stick a toothpick in and a few crumbs cling, but its not gooey.

7.  Let cool a little before you take it out of the pan so it  doesn’t fall apart.

It’s as easy as that! : )

Other quick things to share:

I don’t often post about anything lunchy because they all look about the same.  A salad of some sort with something like an egg or tuna or salmon salad (in the background above).  I took a picture of this one because of all the colors.

Greens, celery, peppers, fennel, sweet potato, olives, pickled mouse melons that Erica made.  Dressed in some lemon juice and tahini mixed together with a little water to loosen it up.

Alsoooo…

A pretty smoothie I had after my run this morning.  I love the blueberry skin flecks.  There were also strawberries, banana, clementine, milk, avocado, a splash of orange juice, and some ginger powder.

I planned to run 8 miles, but it was so nice out and I had lots of leg energy, so I ran 9.  I’m kind of training for a half marathon at the end of March, so maybe you’ll hear about running again.  I’ve been working a lot, so my blogging time has been limited, but I will try to check in every once ina while!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Banana Bread Report

  1. Thanks for posting the recipe, Anna. i can’t wait to try it!

  2. Mary

    Don’t mind if I do… might this rival your amazing, foolproof p-butt chocolate chip banana bread recipe?!

  3. Anna, I made this today and it was delicious!!!!! As you suggested, I increased the instant espresso – to 1.5 tsp. I was using bittersweet chocolate chips, 60%cacao, so it had a good bite with the extra espresso. Perfect for breakfast, or with a scoop of ice cream! Thanks for posting!

  4. Pingback: Leftover Makeover | runandyum

Leave a Reply

