Peanut Palate

20120206-152458.jpg

I finished my jar of delicious coffee and chocolate-infused peanut butter the other day as an overnight oats breakfast. I’m sad that it’s gone, but happy to have a reason to try the next two! (I finished the honey pretzel kind too.)

20120206-155016.jpg

I’ve had this one open for a while: it sounds amazing, but it hasn’t grabbed me like the Bright Eyed and Bushy Tailed flavor did. It’s too sweet to be used as a normal peanut butter… However it is really delicious as a topping for vanilla ice cream. When I think of it as a substitute for Nutella, then I like it more. It’s less sweet than Nutella and has those coconut undertones.

I decided to open this jar too:

20120206-155351.jpg

Seen here with my unadorned oats this morning.

I then proceeded to use it in my adornment of said oats:

20120206-155656.jpg

I cooked the oats themselves with some banana and soy milk, then stirred some ground flax in at the end– extra fiber, healthy fats, and as an added bonus it makes them creamier 🙂 The dollop of PB is on top, but it’s hiding under coconut, granola, and extra raisins.
The cinnamon presence in the peanut butter is delicious; my only complaint is that I’m always digging for raisins. Maybe I should just stir some into the jar.

So, out of the four flavors of Wild Squirrel Peanut Butter I tried, my favorite was definitely the Bright Eyed and Bushy Tailed, which had ground coffee in the unsweetened peanut butter, and then a swirl of dark chocolate as a sweet off-set. It is so different from any other peanut butter i have had, but it still retains a distinct peanuttiness. I like the others too, but I think that flavor is the one I would bring up in every day conversation… and will definitely purchase again!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Peanut Palate

  1. Rosie

    Oh, Anna! How I have missed you. Mary and I made some peanut butter jam thumbprint cookies with oatmeal in them too.

Leave a Reply

