BRB

Okay I’m back!!

It’s kind of embarrassing how long it’s been… apparently life in the food industry gets busy around the holidays– who knew?? 😉  There was a 2 week period where the only day off I had was Christmas.  Luckily since I work two different jobs, I didn’t get sick of working.  I just didn’t run much and didn’t blog.  Now that it’s the new year things are calming down and hopefully you will see me weaving a little more web around here.

Let us travel through time…  I did take some pictures at Christmas, and Rosie specifically requested information about Christmas food.

First, a little background.  Ever since I can remember, Christmas morning breakfast was croissants and orange juice and seltzer served in a wine glass.  Three years ago I realized that orange juice and seltzer is nothing more and nothing less than a virgin mimosa.  As satisfying as slightly sparkled orange juice is, Christmas is a time when you might as well go for the gusto.  For the past two years we have broken out the Prosecco and started Christmas morning with the real deal.

This year we realized late on Christmas Eve that there was not a drop of orange juice in the house.  And then we forgot to take home the orange juice that Aunt Ellen so graciously offered us, since we were at her house when we had this realization.  Not to be deterred, we simply mixed the Prosecco with pomegranate juice.  No one was disappointed by the result.

And what is that dish of golden crusty goodness that was part of this complete breakfast?  Over the past couple years we have started to replace the croissants with Overnight Eggs  (or Strata, or Breakfast Casserole… by any name it tastes as sweet).  The night before you want to eat it, you layer grated cheese (we used English cheddar) with cubed crusty bread, then pour a mixture of eggs, milk, salt, and mustard powder on top.  Let it soak overnight, then bake it the next morning. This works well for Christmas because while it is baking you can open your stockings.

(BTW my mom made that)

It’s so good.  Creamy and eggy inside with a crunchy top.

This year I brought home a stollen (German holiday bread) from the bakery.  Oh my goodness I love it.  When you toast it it is almost like a light pastry, studded with dried fruits and almonds.  I had it with some yogurt and pomegranate seeds to round everything out.

And of course, tea!  Which I drank from my brand new mini mug, which I love.

Probably the most satisfying Christmas morning in my memory 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “BRB

  1. Rosie

    I am now satisfied. Also, I can recommend grapefruit juice as an OJ alternative in your mimosas. 🙂

    • Rosie

      Oh, and ravioli were rolled out by hand and stuffed with four different cheeses (ricotta, parmesan, tuscano, and asiago), sun dried tomatoes, fresh basil, oregano, and parsley, and drowned in homemade tomato sauce.

  2. Chuck

    Amazing photos as always, Anna! I love the casserole. I could smell it right through the computer monitor! Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

