Sneakfast

What’s this?

If you answered a jar of  peanut butter, I don’t blame you.  But it’s just a confusing coincidence that my soaked oats with pumpkin are the exact same color as peanut butter.

Why am I eating my pumpkiny oats out of a peanut butter jar?

Well, this jar isn’t just holding my breakfast, it’s contributing to it!  The best thing to do with a jar of nut butter when it’s down to the scrapings (or almost scrapings) is to eat cereal out of it.  As you eat, you get little randomly-sized smears of nut butter in the bites where your spoon encounters the surface of the jar.

I first tried this in college when I read about making oatmeal in a jar of nut butter scrapings (add oats, water/milk, and whatever else and microwave), but the jar gets really hot and it can get messy.  Not that you shouldn’t try it, but I prefer soaked oats in my scrapings jars.  This one has oats, pumpkin, banana, hemp milk (I like to vary my milks and “milks” (as in cows milk vs soy “milk”) for the variety of tastes and nutrients… hemp milk is an interesting  taste that takes getting used to), water, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a little vanilla.  And of course there’s peanut butter in there, it’s just camouflaged!

Topped with honey Greek yogurt and raisins.

But wait!  What’s that lurking down below??

 

Someone’s tryna share.

Sorry… you already had your rather disgusting compressed cat salmon.

I’m hoping the rain is done for a while; today is an 8-mile run and I’d rather not get wet.  I was thinking of running yesterday, but it was raining and both my legs and I were tired.  Even though I wasn’t sore from Saturday’s long run/wedding, my legs were pretty tired on Monday’s run.  Then on Tuesday I was the closing server and we were super busy, so I didn’t get home until after midnight… went to sleep just after 1, then got up at 7:30 to open the bakery.  After my bakery shift it was pouring, and I hadn’t taken 2 rest days in a row for a while, so I thought I might as well go for it.  I’m thinking I needed it since last night I proceeded to sleep from 10:30 to 9:00.  So now both my legs and I should be well-rested and ready to go.  And now it’s just lightly misting… perfect!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Sneakfast

  1. Variation: Tyler recently taught me that the best glass of chocolate milk is the one where you pour milk directly into the almost-empty chocolate sauce bottle, shake, and then squeeze directly into your mouth. =)

    I am going to try pumpkin soaked oats for brekky tomorrow!!!

  2. Rosie

    MARY AND CHRIS ARE HERE AND WE ARE GOING TO MAKE FIG, HONEY, BANANA CARDEMOM SMOOTHIES WHEN SHE WAKES UP!!!!!

    and it’s experimental food friday. if the mojito pie is successful, you shall have the recipe.

  3. Rosie

    Mojito Pie:

    1 pre-baked macadamia nut crust (recipe below)
    1 can sweetened, condensed milk
    1/3 cup lime juice
    1 Tbsp lime zest
    2 egg yolks
    3 shots rum (divided)
    2 Tbsp chopped fresh mint (divided)
    scant 1/4 tsp mint extract
    1 cup heavy whipping cream
    2 Tbsp powdered sugar (or to taste)

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix the sweetened, condensed milk, lime juice, zest, egg yolks, 2 shots of the rum, 1 Tbsp of the mint, and mint extract together. Pour into prepared crust. Bake 20min or until set (but be careful the crust doesn’t burn!). Cool completely.

    Whip the cream and add the sugar and other tablespoon of mint. Spread over cooled pie. Serve with mojitos (of course!)

    Macadamia nut crust (for my gluten-avoiding friend)
    1 3/4 cup finely ground macadamia nuts
    1/4 cup granulated sugar
    4 Tbsp butter

    Preheat oven to 375. Mix the sugar, ground nuts, and butter together. Press into an 8″ pie pan. Bake 10 minutes. Cool before filling.

  4. Mmmmm…. I can only kind of imagine what this would taste like, which makes me even more inclined to try it….

  5. Pingback: runandyum

Leave a Reply

