Recovery is Key

First things first: my vibrant breakfast from this morning.

That’s a smoothie on top of soaked oats, with a dollop of plain yogurt.  The smoothie was half a frozen banana + blueberries + strawberries + a splash of almond milk. Oh, and if you look closely you can see sneaky evidence of the sunflower seed butter and peanut butter that are sandwiched in between the oats and the smoothie.

Now we can move on…

Sunday I did my long run on trails with Julia.  We went to Seneca Creek State Park and ran on the Greenway together, then she ran a mile of the lake trail with me before turning back (she wasn’t planning to run the whole thing since  she has a bunch of school work to do), and I finished the lake trail.  The whole run was about 14 miles, and I was only starting to feel tired at the end, so that’s a good sign!

I even felt good at work that night, even though I closed.  I started feeling really hungry around 9:30, but I had some almonds & dried fruit in my bag, so that helped me through.  My energy was probably sustained by my post-run feast:

Smoked Salmon and Sauteed Spinach Omelette (SS&SS!)

Served with an enormous salad with sweet potatoes, green beans, tapenade, and more.

I really love sweet potato on salads.   I topped it all with my new favorite speedy salad “dressing”: tahini and plain yogurt mixed together, with a little salt and pepper.

I also tried an ice bath for the first time after my run.  I was motivated by my experience in the Sierras: we swam in an alpine lake after a long hike, and the next day was the first day since we began the trip where my legs felt completely fresh.  Though the bathtub is way less cool (in both senses of the word) than an alpine lake…but it definitely felt good on my legs, and I haven’t had any soreness, so it seems to have had a similar effect!   (Of course, mere hours later I read in Runner’s World that ice baths decrease the storage of glycogen in your muscles during recovery… so it sounds like you can’t really win).

I went for a 4-mile run this morning and felt pretty good, so I think I recovered well from that run.

What I would really love, though, is if the weather would recover from this rainy/humid/blech system.  Bring on Fall!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Recovery is Key

  1. Rosie

    I would have made a smoked salmon and sauteed spinach souffle!

    • Ooohh… I’ve been wanting to make souffle! But imagine making souffle when your level of hunger is resulting from 14 miles of movement, and your brother and father are bottling beer in the kitchen. I think an omelette was as fancy as I was going to get 🙂

  2. Rosie

    Try a splash of lemon juice in that dressing too!

  3. Nancy

    Your breakfast looks super yummy! Want to share the secret ingredients so I can recreate it??? Please?!?!?

    • Nancy!!! How are you?? What are you up to these days?

      Let’s see… my breakfast. Well, it starts with oats soaked in milk- the ratio is about 1:1, but that depends on how long you are soaking them. If it’s overnight you might want the ratio to be more like 1:1.5 (and leave it in the fridge). I love soaked oats, but if the idea weirds you out you can skip that part and just do the smoothie, which was just 1/2 a frozen banana (which I would consider to be the secret ingredient, if we want to identify one, because it makes it creamy!), about 1/3 cup of blueberries, and about 1/4 cup of raspberries. Oh, and I added a quarter peach, cause we had it. If it’s too thick and won’t blend, just add some milk. Assembly: soaked oats go in a bowl, then I put some peanut butter and sunflower butter on top, so you can do that if you please, and then pour the smoothie on top. I added a dollop of plain yogurt. Now you have a strange yet delicious cereal/smoothie hybrid to eat out of a bowl with a spoon. And if you want some crunchy texture in there, you can put granola or whatever cereal on top. Tadaa! 🙂

  4. Nancy

    Hi! I am doing great. Still riding lots and lots of race horses. I have also really gotten back into running… and eating… and therefore I LOVE your blog 🙂 You are always eating some of the yummiest things! I will have to try your yummy-looking breakfast and I will let you know how it turns out! Things tend to go tremendously wrong for me in the kitchen, so it will certainly be an experiment! I would ask you what you have been up to… but I am hoping to read all about it in your blog! Lol!

  5. Nancy

    Alright… one more question. What kind of oats are you using? Like… oats like I get to feed my horse? Whole oats? Crimped oats? Or like oats you use for oatmeal… I think they are rolled? I am so confused! 🙂 Do you get yours from the grocery store or do you use a specialty market?

    • Oh whoops, sorry I didn’t respond in a timely manner… but yes, rolled oats (or ‘old fashioned’ oats) are what you’re looking for- you can get them at any store. You could also use quick oats. Whole oats would be… crunchy. Unless you soaked them for like a week 🙂
      Please do let me know how it works out for you. And feel free to ask questions and pursue it trial-and-error fashion… like science! that tastes good!

      I’m glad you’re still racing horses, and super glad you’re running! What kind of running are you doing?

Leave a Reply

